Skip to content

Francis Magalona, Filipino

March 8, 2009

francis-montage

There was only one occasion when this writer met Francis Magalona.

It wasn’t really even a real face to face given that we had simply bumped into each other while looking at gadgets for mobile phones in Greenhills.

But realizing that I recognized the pop icon that he was, Francis smiled back warmly.

That warmth jumps back at anyone seeing the Filipino Master Rapper’s last pictures.

Through to his final moments Magalona celebrated life, even calling his losing struggle against leukemia his “happy battle.”

http://francismagalona.multiply.com/journal

His last entry just before he was to undergo his 4th chemotherapy session read:

Good evening, people. I am getting prepared for my 4th Chemotherapy cycle, and I will be admitted tonight at The Medical City. I will be doing some tests tomorrow, wish me luck. Friday I begin my 4th cycle, which is a Hi-Dose kind, as will be taking 6 grams of CytarabinTM a day every other day for 3 days. (According to webmd.com, Cytarabine is given intravenously. Sometimes it is given as a shot under the skin or directly into the spinal fluid. It can be given in a low, average, or high dose. Cytarabine is classified as an antimetabolite. It kills cancer cells by interfering with the way they multiply. Cytarabine is used to treat acute myelogenous leukemia [AML] and acute lymphoblastic leukemia. It is sometimes used to treat non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and some types of brain tumors.) I will be at the 14th floor of the TMC, as usual. I brought a lot reading materials (bible included!) and DVDs to keep me company while I do my treatment. I will be doing my radiation treatment by February and my PBSCT (Peripheral Blood Stem Cell Transplant) will be done by March. I look forward to the pain as I know my journey is on full speed ahead. I will not be bold to say that without asking a favor from you all. PLEASE PRAY for me as I undergo treatment. Your prayers, as always, have sustained me. And am sure the Lord will listen to all our prayers. To His will I submit myself. God bless you, my friend.

Indeed as he was facing imminent death, Francis ‘M’ was smiling back at Filipinos who are now left to cherish the enduring memories of his patriotic music, his devotion to family, and joy for life!

Paalam Francis  ‘Kiko’ Magalona.

Postscript:

A most fitting graphical tribute has been posted here

by blogger ‘Mind Doodles’

http://ideography.wordpress.com/2009/03/06/thank-you-to-the-man-from-manila/

To the creator of this mage goes all the credit.

francism-k-tribute

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 6:00 pm

    Thank you for your kind words and for posting the image I put together rather quickly on a busy Friday afternoon. It is but a simple gesture of gratitude to a soul who has done so much in what we may refer to as ‘little’ [borrowed] time in the here and now.

    With appreciation-

    k.villa/mind doodles

Leave a Reply

