Skip to content

Noynoy Under Attack (Updated)

April 9, 2010

We all have our moods, and mood swings.

But this story that’s been blazing through the blogosphere and will break out through this Friday on traditional media is at once the most distasteful and amateurish black propaganda assault of the 2010 political season: the bogus psychological report about leading presidential candidate Benigno Simeon Aquino III being a mental case, one suffering from a “major depressive disorder.”

The lie first broke out via a blog disingenuously called ‘A Political Amateur’s blog.

Don’t bother to look for it now.

The amateur black prop mercenary fled to his dark rock as fast as his lie was disproved.

Both the target of the attack and the supposed author of the psych report have denied the yarn.

Sen. Noynoy Aquino:

What they’re doing is that they came up with this work of fiction, [and] I will respond [and] point out factual errors that are easily verifiable, thereby giving them the chance to, para bang may ‘editing’ of the work to make it sound more credible.
So I’m in a position that there is a no-win situation, and the lack of attribution is already indicative of the fact that the person who made this fiction is aware that he is purporting fiction and is slanderous.
I am confident that there are a lot of people who have known me, they are people who, if they bother to read it, will find so many factual errors.

http://www.noynoy.ph/blog/2010/04/08/fr-caluag-categorically-denies-psych-document-says-it-is-bogus/

Father Carmelo Caluag:

Silang, Cavite
Philippines 4118
8 April 2010

Dear All,

Blessings of Easter joy, peace, and hope!

Several people had asked me, mostly by SMS, about a psychological report I supposedly wrote and/or signed in 1996 that is circulating first in a blog (politicalamateur.wordpress.com/2010/ 04/08/noynoys-medical-record/) and is now through regular email and other social networks such as facebook.

I have just read the said report and would like to put it on record that it is definitely not my work. I am a teacher, educator, and priest both by training and vocation. I am in no way competent to make any psychological assessments and, much less, write such a report.

Furthermore, I wish to point out the following:

1. I was never connected with the Psychology Department of the Ateneo de Manila as the report claims. The date of the report, 1996, would indicate, as people in the Ateneo know, that my assignment then was principal of the Ateneo de Manila High School.
2. The signature that was placed on the report is the type of signature I would use to sign thousands of letters to Ateneo de Manila alumni from 2000-2005 to greet them on their birthdays. I personally signed each letter, since I did add a personal note to alumni I knew personally. As such, this signature would be very accessible to someone who would think of forging my signature by attaching it to a document and circulating it electronically.
3. More formal letters and reports (on matters on which I have competence on) I would normally sign using a somewhat different signature, more formal than the one that appears on this forged report.

Simply put, the said report is bogus. Why my name and signature was attached to it, I do not know, but the act is enough to make me say that whoever is behind it is not being honest and might have other motives. I leave it to people now to make that judgment.

If the person who posted it in the blog did so in good faith and genuine concern and will be kind enough to let me know where he got the said letter or article, I will be most grateful. This will allow me to correct the mistake of a report attributed to me that I did not write and have no competence to write.

I hope this is a good warning to people not to readily believe anonymous messages.

I pray we will continue to be discerning and I pray we will rise above self-centred interests and instead work hard so that this coming elections will truly reflect the deepest dreams and hopes of our people.

Let us pray for one another and our country.

Sincerely yours,
FR. CARMELO A. CALUAG

http://s3.amazonaws.com/data.tumblr.com/tumblr_l0k888QGx91qzd5x0o1_1280.jpg?AWSAccessKeyId=0RYTHV9YYQ4W5Q3HQMG2&Expires=1270838048&Signature=j0rU0ibZDVvqNYJ9/tz7oYy2vc8=

The Ateneo Department of Psychology:

It has come to our attention that a psychiatric evaluation of Senator Benigno Aquino III, supposedly conducted by the Ateneo de Manila University Psychology Department in 1996, is being circulated in the Internet and other media. The Psychology Department would like to correct this fallacious information. The document is false; no faculty member or other professional affiliated with the Psychology Department has ever conducted a psychiatric assessment of Senator Benigno Aquino III. Moreover, Fr. Carmelo A. Caluag, whose name appears as the signatory in the psychiatric evaluation form, is not a psychologist or psychiatrist and was never affiliated with the Psychology Department. The Department denounces this attempt to vilify a person’s character through the spreading of false information.

http://ls.ateneo.edu/module.php?LM=articles.detail&eid=1270733595118

TV5 interviewed Fr. Caluag on the case:

There are the usual suspects in this episode so I won’t mention any one by name just yet

Beyond the suspects. Let’s think about who’ll probably be the net gainer/s.

Then we’ll be close to uncovering who the paymaster of that ‘amateur political blogger’ is.

Nuff said, for now.

Postscript:

In the hours after I wrote this, there are clear indications coming my way re the identity of the errant ‘blogger’.

There are also disturbing elements about which aspect of the ‘leaked’ document is actually untrue.

But I need to cross validate the pieces of information in my possession…


2 Comments leave one →
  1. baycas permalink
    April 9, 2010 9:20 am

    manong,

    if you were able to log on to the webpage (the blog post on noynoy’s med record by “the amateur”) earlier before the entire blog was taken down, your browser’s History Cache may contain html (IE or Firefox) or snapshots (Safari) of the page. pls. be careful, this should be done off-line or you may get the same wordpress advice above.

    anyway, a tech-savvy guy could easily do it.

    …just so this post of yours may look better. have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

