Skip to content

“I’m A Cry Baby But I’m Strong” – Alberto Agra

April 27, 2010

Those indeed were crocodile tears that this former election lawyer shed over the weekend.

He was neither contrite nor sincerely sad ad becoming, in his own words, the most hated man in the Philippines today:

In all my 47 years, I never thought that I would ever be the most hated man in this country. And I say this knowing that this is not an exaggeration. The past 10 days have been harrowing, to say the least.

There were a lot of questions that entered my mind. But one thing I did not question was the resolution I issued last April 16. I stand by that decision and the process I went through to arrive at it..

I will say with a straight face, on the honor of my father’s name, I did not receive a single centavo from any quarter to release the resolution, or rule in that manner. Because it is like any other case where both the victim and the accused are accorded the same constitutional rights.

I will not inhibit myself in resolving the MR (motion for reconsideration). L will not create a review) panel. My faith in my own objectivity has not been shaken for there is no reason for me to doubt myself.

Well, Attorney Alberto Agra do revel in the sordid comfort that your boss, outgoing President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, is the most distrusted Filipino.

So there were really no surprises when Mr. Agra was interviewed last night on state television.

He simply recited the supposedly legal underpinning of his ‘ express resolution’ that cleared two senior Ampatuan clansmen from multiple murder charges in the horrific Maguindanao massacre.

Most glaring: he side stepped  questions about this indisputable fact: that the supposed Ampatuan flight manifests supporting their alibi of not being in Ampatuan, Maguindanao on November 23, 2009.

These very document had never been authenticated and entered in court as evidence for the defense.

Still he used the dubious documents as basis to reverse state prosecutors findings of probable cause.

Not to worry, you are indeed most hated Mr. Agra.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

